Comparison

ConductCognition vs Gorilla Experiment Builder

Gorilla Experiment Builder lets researchers build their own online experiments. ConductCognition is a library of 54 ready-made cognitive tests that are scored for you. Facts about Gorilla below come from its public pages, read on 4 October 2026, with the source for each.

Which one fits your study

Choose Gorilla Experiment Builder if

  • You want to build your own tasks, stimuli or questionnaires.
  • You need paradigms outside our library, such as implicit association tests, priming or economic games.
  • Participants must do timed tasks on phones or tablets.
  • You need branching, repeated sessions or delays between sessions in the study flow.
  • You need audio or video recording, multiplayer studies or a shop simulation.
  • Participants read a language other than English or Italian.
  • You want a platform covered by an independent timing study.

Choose ConductCognition if

  • You want standard cognitive tests scored for each participant, such as the Stroop effect, stop-signal reaction time, d-prime and spans, without building or scoring them.
  • You need neuropsychological tests ready to run, such as trail making, symbol coding, verbal learning, story recall, verbal and category fluency and clock drawing.
  • You want a test built for your study, with an estimate of the cost and the time before work starts.
  • You want quality checks on every session without setting them up.
  • Your study needs participant data stored in the United States, with business associate agreement review.
  • Our plan next to your Gorilla tier in the price table costs less.

Side by side

Gorilla's column quotes its public pages; the numbers in brackets point to the source list below. ConductCognition's column describes the product as it runs today.

What you get

Gorilla Experiment BuilderResearchers build their own tasks, questionnaires and study flow with Task Builder, Questionnaire Builder and Experiment Builder. [1, 2]
ConductCognition54 ready-made tests. Researchers choose tests and adjust settings within each test's limits. See each test's settings

Scoring

Gorilla Experiment BuilderTask screens can mark responses correct and keep running scores. Task data download in long format, one row per trial, as CSV or XLSX. [2, 3]
ConductCognitionParadigm scores for every test, such as the Stroop effect, stop-signal reaction time, d-prime and span, computed when each test ends.

Norms and percentiles

Gorilla Experiment BuilderNot stated in Gorilla's public documentation as of 4 October 2026. [2, 3, 4]
ConductCognitionPercentiles where a published norm matches the test.

Data quality

Gorilla Experiment BuilderResearchers add checks inside their tasks, such as attention-check screens. Bot detection metrics come with Standard or Department subscriptions. [4, 5]
ConductCognitionA device check before each session, quality checks on every session and the Study Quality Monitor, on every plan.

Study flow

Gorilla Experiment BuilderFlowchart nodes randomize, counterbalance (including Latin squares), branch, repeat and delay sessions. [6]
ConductCognitionSections of tests, instructions and breaks. Order inside a section can be fixed, random or a Latin square, and sections can be counterbalanced. Participants can be assigned to study groups at random, by weight or balanced, with optional caps. Branching and scheduled repeat sessions are not available.

Questionnaires

Gorilla Experiment BuilderQuestionnaire Builder, with a scoring tab for sum and subscale scores. [7]
ConductCognitionA consent screen and optional demographic questions. No questionnaire builder.

Participant devices

Gorilla Experiment BuilderResearchers allow or block phones, tablets and computers. [8]
ConductCognitionDesktops and laptops run all 54 tests. 18 untimed tests also run on tablets and 16 on phones. The 33 timed tests need a desktop or laptop with a mouse or trackpad.

Participant languages

Gorilla Experiment BuilderResearchers type task and questionnaire text in any language. Some system screens stay in English. [9]
ConductCognitionEnglish. Italian participant pages on paid plans, with Italian task text for 45 of the 54 tests.

Recruitment services

Gorilla Experiment BuilderProlific, Sona Systems, CloudResearch Connect, Qualtrics, Qualtrics Panel, Kantar Profiles and a custom third-party setup. [10]
ConductCognitionOne open link per study, with settings for Prolific, Sona Systems, CloudResearch Connect and Qualtrics, and for any service that adds an ID to a link.

Hosting

Gorilla Experiment BuilderMicrosoft Azure North Europe, in the Republic of Ireland. Gorilla states that participant and research data remain in the EU. [11]
ConductCognitionMicrosoft Azure East US 2, in the United States.

HIPAA business associate agreement

Gorilla Experiment BuilderNot stated in Gorilla's public documentation as of 4 October 2026. [11]
ConductCognitionHIPAA-ready workflows, with business associate agreement review for hospitals, clinics and academic medical centers.

21 CFR Part 11

Gorilla Experiment BuilderNot stated in Gorilla's public documentation as of 4 October 2026. [11, 12]
ConductCognitionNot FDA-cleared and not 21 CFR Part 11 compliant.

Timing evidence

Gorilla Experiment BuilderAn independent 2020 timing study called PsychoPy and Gorilla "broadly the best performers" among the online platforms it tested (Bridges et al., PeerJ). [13]
ConductCognitionTests run on jsPsych 8. No independent timing study of ConductCognition has been published.

Recording and other tools

Gorilla Experiment BuilderAudio and video recording components, multiplayer studies and a shop builder. [14, 15, 16]
ConductCognitionClock Drawing records each drawing stroke. No audio, video, multiplayer or shop features.

Free plan

Gorilla Experiment BuilderBuilding and previewing are free. Data collection is paid per participant or by subscription. [1]
ConductCognitionBuilding and previews are free, and every account gets 10 free participants on any test.

Price, tier by tier

List prices in US dollars for one year. Each Gorilla tier sits next to the ConductCognition plan that costs less and includes at least as many participants a year and researchers. Gorilla's price covers its building tools and data collection for the tasks you build; ConductCognition's covers ready-made tests with scoring. ConductCognition: 10 free participants per account, then pay as you go at $0.99 per participant for academic research and $2.49 for commercial research, and yearly plans from $249.

Academic

Gorilla tierGorilla priceConductCognition planConductCognition price
Academic, per participant$1.40 per participantOne token per participant, minimum purchase of 25Academic pay as you go$0.99 per participantOne credit per participant, packs from 25 credits ($24.75)
Researcher Basic$255 a year200 participants a year, 1 userAcademic Research$249 a year300 participants a year, 1 researcher
Researcher Standard$1,570 a year200 participants a year, 1 user, game, shop and multiplayer toolsAcademic Research$249 a year300 participants a year, 1 researcher
Lab Basic$2,020 a year2,000 participants a year, 10 usersAcademic Department$1,999 a year3,000 participants a year, 10 researchers
Lab Standard$6,170 a year2,000 participants a year, 10 users, premium toolsAcademic Department$1,999 a year3,000 participants a year, 10 researchers
Department Basic$6,860 a year5,000 participants a year, 200 usersAcademic Institution$6,499 a yearUnlimited participants, fair use, unlimited researchers
Department Standard$15,560 a yearUnlimited participants (5,000 to 12,000), unlimited usersAcademic Institution$6,499 a yearUnlimited participants, fair use, unlimited researchers
Department Standard XL$27,900 a yearUnlimited participants (12,000 to 25,000), unlimited usersAcademic Institution$6,499 a yearUnlimited participants, fair use, unlimited researchers

Commercial

Gorilla tierGorilla priceConductCognition planConductCognition price
Commercial, per participant$3.22 per participantOne token per participantCommercial pay as you go$2.49 per participantOne credit per participant, packs from 25 credits ($62.25)
Team Basic$3,760 a year2,000 participants a year, 10 usersCommercial Team$3,499 a year3,000 participants a year, 10 researchers
Team Standard$7,510 a year2,000 participants a year, 10 users, premium toolsCommercial Team$3,499 a year3,000 participants a year, 10 researchers
Team + Success$10,200 a year2,000 participants a year, 10 users, 3 hours of trainingCommercial Team$3,499 a year3,000 participants a year, 10 researchersFor training and a named contact: Enterprise / CRO, from $9,999 a year, volume quoted.

Gorilla's Standard tiers add its game, shop and multiplayer tools or premium tools, which ConductCognition does not have. Gorilla subscribers can buy top-up packs to go past a plan's yearly cap; their prices are not on Gorilla's public pricing page, so they are not in these tables. At 1,000 participants a year, Commercial Research costs $1,499; at Gorilla's commercial price per participant, the same volume costs $3,220. ConductCognition's academic credit packs are for academic and nonprofit research, and commercial packs are for commercial and sponsored research. See ConductCognition pricing for every plan.

Moving a study from Gorilla

Gorilla tasks do not import into ConductCognition. Pick the matching tests from the test library, check each test's settings, and connect your recruitment service with the setup guides. Data you collected in Gorilla stays in your Gorilla downloads.

Questions about the comparison

Is ConductCognition cheaper than Gorilla?

Yes. Each of Gorilla's yearly tiers has a ConductCognition plan that costs less and includes at least as many participants a year and researchers. Pay as you go costs $0.99 per participant for academic research, against Gorilla's $1.40, and $2.49 for commercial research, against $3.22. Gorilla's prices were read on its pricing page on 4 October 2026.

What do the two prices pay for?

Gorilla's price covers its building tools and data collection for the tasks you build. ConductCognition's price covers ready-made tests with scoring, quality checks and, for some tests, percentiles.

Can I import my Gorilla tasks?

No. ConductCognition runs its own tests, so you choose the matching tests from the library. Your recruitment service account stays the same; connect the new study link with the setup guides.

Where is participant data stored?

ConductCognition stores it in Microsoft Azure East US 2, in the United States. Gorilla's due-diligence page says its services run in Microsoft Azure North Europe, in Ireland.

Can participants use phones?

Yes, for untimed tests: 16 untimed tests run on phones and 18 on tablets. Timed tests need a desktop or laptop with a mouse or trackpad. A phone that cannot run every test in a study is stopped before the consent form. On an open study link, that person is not counted and uses no credit. Gorilla lets researchers allow or block phones, tablets and computers.

Try the scored tests

Start free, preview any test, and run a pilot with your 10 free participants.

Start free